Tottenham Hotspur v Manchester City Preview

January 28, 2014 | By

Southampton v Chelsea PreviewPremiership action Wednesday Night comes from White Hart Lane and features Tottenham Hotspurs versus Manchester City.

View our Betting Preview, Tips, Predictions and Match Odds for the game which can be seen Live on BT Sports 1 High Definition with a scheduled 19:45pm (GMT) Kick Off Time.

Tottenham Hotspur v Manchester City Preview, Premiership, Wednesday 29th January 2014

Tottenham Hotspurs head in to this Wednesdays game with the heavy 6 – 0 defeat firmly set in their minds, granted it was at Manchester City’s ground but they should never of let such a defeat happen and it ended up being part of why AVB was sacked a few months ago. Since then Tim Sherwood has done very well having only lost twice since taking over back in December. Since Christmas Tottenham have won five, lost two and drawn one which has lead to them climbing the table to 5th position and also exiting out of both domestic cups.

Manchester City head into the match unbeaten in nineteen games in all competitions although they did come close to a loss at the weekend to Championship side Watford who took a surprised two nil lead in the FA Cup. I don’t know what was said at half time but the home side came out of the tunnel and held no prisoners as Sergio Aguero demolished Watford with a hat-trick of goals as well as Kolarov grabbing his first goal for this season sending the Premiership side through with a dramatic 4 – 2 win.

Tottenham Hotspur Team News:

It looks as though Tottenham Hotspurs winger Andros Townsend could be set to start on Wednesday night after being sidelined since December with a hamstring injury he picked up in the loss to West Ham in the Capital One Cup. We could also see Sandro return for action after featuring in a behind the scenes friendly against fellow London club West Ham on Thursday, it also featured other returning key players such as Jan Vertonghen, Younes Kaboul and Brazilian Paulinho who all came through the friendly with positive results.

Manchester City Team News:

Now that Manchester City have seen the return of Steven Jovetic we see Pellegrini now has four options up front who are all capable of finding the net. We are more likely to see Aguero start alongside either Jovetic or Dzeko as Negredo is out with  a shoulder injury. The two other Manchester City injuries are David Silva with his hamstring and then Samir Nasri who is likely out for the long term with a crucial knee ligament injury.

Tottenham Hotspur v Manchester City Head to Head Statistics:

In the last 5 head to head statistics Manchester City are the better team although if we look at the 126 games in total we will see Tottenham Hotspurs come out on top slightly with 49 wins to Manchester City’s 47 but with Man City being the new team to beat in recent years I can eventually see the Manchester club over taking Spurs in the years to follow.

24/11/13 PRL Manchester City – Tottenham Hotspur 6 : 0
21/04/13 PRL Tottenham Hotspur – Manchester City
3 : 1
11/11/12 PRL Manchester City – Tottenham Hotspur 2 : 1
22/01/12 PRL Manchester City – Tottenham Hotspur 3 : 2
28/08/11 PRL Tottenham Hotspur – Manchester City 1 : 5

Previous Average Goals Per Game Statistics

In the 126 games played we have seen a total of 361 goals scored which gives us a respectable average of 2.86 goals per game. Yet if we went from the last 5 head to head statistics  it would be 5.2 goals per game. This is due to two hammerings Spurs were on the end of in 2013 and 2011.

Tottenham Hotspur v Manchester City Recent Form (Left to Right)

Tottenham Hotspur: W W L W W

Manchester City: W W W W W

Manchester City are the team in better form right now having not lost in an impressive nineteen games heading into the match. That’s not to take anything away from this Tottenham Hotspurs side who are also in good form since Tim Sherwood took over.

Tottenham Hotspur v Manchester City Match Betting Odds Market

Tottenham Hotspur have a heavy defeat against Man City already under their belt this season and now they face them at home you would hope they go in search of revenge. Bookmakers have set the odds in a reasonable fashion although they are far from favourites for tis match on Wednesday. Best odds found here @ 11/4 with Bet365 – £200 Free Bets For New Customers Registering an Account.

The Draw is an option although it hasn’t been seen in a while between these two historic clubs. The bookmakers have set the odds best found @ 11/4 with BetVictor – £25 Free Bets For New Customers Registering an Account.

Manchester City are favourites for this game with their current run of form and the fact they have already destroyed Tottenham Hotspurs 6 – 0 this season. The best odds coming in can be found here @ 21/20 with Bet365 – £200 Free Bets For New Customers Registering an Account.

Pick up £50 Free Bets from Ladbrokes when Registering a New AccountRegister an Account with Ladbrokes & Receive £50 Free Bets

Tottenham Hotspur v Manchester City Preview Match Predictions, Tips & First Goal Scorer Bets.

Neutrals will be looking forward to this upcoming Premiership clash on Wednesday and you can’t blame them after the last time these two met six goals were scored and all by the Manchester team currently sitting 2nd in the table and one point behind Arsenal. Tottenham Hotspurs will be looking for revenge but I am not sure how confident they will be in grabbing it although they can be lifted with the return of a few key players who have been missing since December.

Manchester City head into this game on the back of nineteen games undefeated in all competitions and they will seriously be looking to make that twenty on Wednesday and are of course favourites to do so at the end of the ninety minutes. But Spurs could cause an upset in the City dressing room if things go their way and with their returning players it could well be on the cards if Manchester City play like they did in the first half against Watford at the weekend.

These facts will reflect on both of my upcoming predictions for Wednesday, as I plan to back both teams to come away with the win. My first will be for both teams to score and Tottenham Hotspurs to win the game which is given some great odds right now. The other I am going for is Manchester City to win and also Edin Dzeko to score on the night. You could also take Sergio Aguero or Jovetic if he starts but I feel its Dzeko’s turn to get on the score sheet.

English Premiership 2013/2014 Season Free Football Tips & Predictions

2014 English Premiership Current Match Promotions & Free Bets Offers

Help your self to some additional Free Bets from our list of Top Recommended Bookmakers below, which you can use on all your Football Bets for the upcoming weekends action.

£10 Free Bets No Deposit For New Customers Registering an Account.
English Premiership £30 Free Bets, Plus £5 Free Bets Each and Every Week : Register an Account with SkyBet and Receive £30 Free Bets, Plus £5 Free Bets Each and Every Week with Sky Bet’s new Free Bets Club. Bet Now
coral_promo
£50 Free Bets on English Premiership Matches : Register an Account with Coral and receive £50 Free Bets to use on English Premiership matches taking place this season. Register Here
£200 Free Bets For New Customers Registering an Account.
Bore Draw Money Back Special : Have a pre-match Correct Score, Half-Time/Full-Time or Scorecast Bet on any 2014 English Premiership Match and if the game finishes 0-0 Bet365 will refund your stake. : Bet Now
£50 Free Bets For New Customers Registering an Account.
£25 Free Bets on English Premiership Matches: Register a New Account with Betfred and Receive £25 Free Bets to use on English Premiership Matches this season : Register Here

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Category: England, Football, Premiership, Season 2013-14

Comments are closed.