Villarreal v Real Sociedad Preview

January 15, 2014 | By

Southampton v Chelsea PreviewSpanish Copa del Rey 2nd Leg action on Thursday Night comes from the El Madrigal Stadium and features Villarreal versus Real Sociedad.

View our Betting Preview, Tips, Predictions and Match Odds for the game which can be seen Live on Sky Sports 2 High Definition with a scheduled 19:00pm (GMT) Kick Off Time.

Villarreal v Real Sociedad Preview, Copa del Rey, Thursday 16th January 2014

Villarreal will be looking forward to this upcoming game after completely destroying their opponents in the La Liga on Monday night in a 5 – 1 thrashing. Although this is the Copa del Rey that result will install some huge confidence after the first leg ended goalless the week before when Villarreal faced Real Sociedad away from home. League results have been up and down in recent weeks with loses to Sevilla and Barcelona.

The loss this week to Villarreal would of been a huge hit to the clubs confidence, with such a heavy loss concluded they will be looking to bounce back and exact some revenge with grabbing an away goal or two. The loss on Monday allowed Villarreal to switch places with Real Sociedad as the pair fight for 5th and 6th position. There are a handful of teams fighting for that Champions League position and only six points between them which is proving to bring some exciting battles as the season goes on.

Villarreal Team News:

Villarreal are without four squad players right now with the only long term injury concern being Spaniard Farinos who has been sidelined since March 2013 with an ankle issue. Then we have Hernan Perez out with a back injury as well as Pablo Iniquez sidelined since the beginning of January. Cani also shares the injury table with a knee injury and we are unsure when he is set to return.

Real Sociedad Team News:

Real Sociedad have a trio of Spaniards missing from the squad in recent months. De La Bella is the more recent after suffering with an ankle issue in the beginning of December. Zurutuza is out with a knee injury since the end of November and we do not know when he will be back playing. The only long term injury is Granero who is recovering from crucial knee ligament damage.

Villarreal v Real Sociedad Head to Head Statistics:

In recent years we have seen Villarreal as the more dominant team as Real Sociedad haven’t won since back in 2010. Although 3 of the 5 head to head results have ended as a draw we have still seen them record two convincing wins. In total we have 22 games played with Villarreal winning 8 to Real Sociedad’s 5. There are also 9 draws in total.

13/01/14 PRD Villarreal – Real Sociedad 5 : 1
09/01/14 CDR Real Sociedad – Villarreal
0 : 0
22/04/12 PRD Real Sociedad – Villarreal 1 : 1
11/12/11 PRD Villarreal – Real Sociedad 1 : 1
23/01/11 PRD Villarreal – Real Sociedad 2 : 1

Previous Average Goals Per Game Statistics

In the 22 games previously played we have seen a total of 52 goals scored, which gives us an average of 2.36 goals per game. This average as seen in previous results is very common, although now and then we see a bizarre result where goals come in a frenzy much like Monday.

Villarreal v Real Sociedad Recent Form (Left to Right)

Villarreal: W D W L W

Real Sociedad: L D W W W

In the last 5 games played we can see that both teams are equal in terms of form, yet Real Sociedad’s loss came at the hand of their next opponents Villarreal, which would give Villarreal the advantage for this game as well as playing at home.

Villarreal v Real Sociedad Match Betting Odds Market

Villarreal are the clear favourites for this game and with Monday’s demolition you can’t blame them. The best odds are coming in @ 4/5 with Bet365 – £200 Free Bets For New Customers Registering an Account.

The Draw is a result very often seen between these two and bookmakers have set the odds at something that respects that. With the best currently seen @ 14/5 with BetVictor (£25 Free Bets for New Customers)

Real Sociedad haven’t won away from home at Villarreal since 2006 yet with their league position similar to their opponents they are still seen to have a chance. With the best odds coming in @ 4/1 with Totepool – Bet £5 and Get £10 Free when Registering a New Account!

Pick up £50 Free Bets from Ladbrokes when Registering a New Account

Villarreal v Real Sociedad Match Predictions, Tips & First Goal Scorer Bets.

This is looking to be an exciting game come Thursday after Both clubs last two fixtures where against each other in recent weeks. Villarreal are currently the better of the two after a goalless draw at Real Sociedad’s ground and then smashing them at home 5 – 1 in the La Liga on Monday. So we see them once more at home but will we see another flurry of goals on Thursday? Looking at the average goals per game statistic I see it as unlikely yet do see the home side winning on the night.

Real Sociedad and Villarreal have both been in good form lately and sit 5th and 6th in the La Liga while fighting it out with Sevilla and Athletic Bilbao for that prestigious Champions League position. Yet with the Copa del Rey seen as very important I can see both clubs looking to do well in the competition.

So lets look at some predictions, there would of been no hope be suggesting a 5 – 1 win the other night and I personally would of gone with both teams to score and Villarreal the winners. A prediction which would of come in by the looks of it, but do we go for that again? Its a possibility for sure as with previous results have often seen Real Sociedad score at least one goal away from home. For this game however I am going for Villarreal to win both halves of the game which is giving some nice odds right now. The other I am going for is Ikechukwu Uche to score first and Villarreal to win.

Spanish Copa del Rey, Villarreal v Real Sociedad Preview Free Football Tips & Predictions

2014 Spanish Copa del Rey Current Match Promotions & Free Bets Offers

Help your self to some additional Free Bets from our list of Top Recommended Bookmakers below, which you can use on all your Football Bets for the upcoming weekends action.

£10 Free Bets No Deposit For New Customers Registering an Account.
Spanish Copa del Rey £30 Free Bets, Plus £5 Free Bets Each and Every Week : Register an Account with SkyBet and Receive £30 Free Bets, Plus £5 Free Bets Each and Every Week with Sky Bet’s new Free Bets Club. Bet Now
coral_promo
£50 Free Bets on Spanish Copa del Rey Matches : Register an Account with Coral and receive £50 Free Bets to use on Spanish Copa del Rey matches taking place this season. Register Here
£200 Free Bets For New Customers Registering an Account.
Bore Draw Money Back Special : Have a pre-match Correct Score, Half-Time/Full-Time or Scorecast Bet on any 2014 Spanish Copa del Rey Match and if the game finishes 0-0 Bet365 will refund your stake. : Bet Now
£50 Free Bets For New Customers Registering an Account.
£25 Free Bets on Spanish Copa del Rey Matches: Register a New Account with Betfred and Receive £25 Free Bets to use on Spanish Copa del Rey Matches this season : Register Here

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Category: Copa del Rey, Football, Season 2013-14, Spain

Comments are closed.